Governor Profiles

Penny Deller (Chair of Governors)  
Parent Governor since September 2007, Chair since 2008, working closely with the Headteacher to carry out any duties delegated by the governing body.  Has a presence in school, attends school functions, works with the local authority, is accessible to other governors, staff and parents and meets governors from other schools.

Julie Murphy 
Parent Governor for more than eight years, member of the Resources Committee and Chair of the Progress and Attainment Committee. Currently Lead for Curriculum and co-governor for children with special educational needs and co-governor overseeing literacy in the curriculum.

Nicole Lee – Community Governor
Community governor since 2010, sitting on both the Resources and Progress and Attainment Committees, and recently appointed Finance Committee Lead. The finance committee’s role includes approving the schools budget and monitoring expenditure, to ensure funds are used to support the schools strategy and priorities for improvement.

Sharon Dewhirst 
Parent Governor since 2011 and qualified Chartered Accountant with experience of schools finance.  A Member of both Resources and Progress and Attainment Committees and comes into the school once a week to listen to pupils reading.

Rachel Korboe 
Parent Governor since 2012. Public Health professional committed to promoting healthy and sustainable lifestyles for children and families. Member of the Progress and Attainment committee

Martin Beale

Co-opted governor since Spring 2016. I have a strong affiliation with Merryhills. My daughter greatly enjoyed her time as a pupil at the school before transferring to Highlands and latterly to Woodhouse Sixth Form College.

I have been involved in education for all of my working life.  I taught mathematics in secondary schools for over 20 years before becoming an Ofsted Inspector and Educational Consultant some 20 years ago.

Penny Elvin

Co opted Governor since March 2016. Has a child currently at Merryhills and a husband who attended in the 80’s. Has a Masters in Psychology and has worked in Middle and Secondary schools for over 16 years. Experienced Mathematics Teacher and Special Educational Needs Co-Ordinator.

 Amanda Smith – Parent Governor

Carol Berry – Staff Governor

Linda Brockhurst – Staff Governor